My Fantasy Lit Party

Which five authors would you invite to your fantasy lit party? Seeing as I’m a little crazy and radical, these are my choices. #fantasylitparty

(From CornelWest.com)

{1} Cornel West

Author of Hope on a Tightrope and Democracy Matters.

He’s a wonderful, modern-day philosopher and activist. Plus he is so animated when he talks, I’m expecting him to get the energy of my fantasy lit party going.

(From SouthEndPress.org)

{2} bell hooks

Author of All About Love and Writing Beyond Race.

Radical in so many ways, I fell in love with bell’s writing in college and continue to keep up on her latest thoughts and publications. A very critical, deep, intellectual thinker, I’m going to have to balance her out with…

(From HoneyBeeInTheCity.blogspot.com)

{3} Chelsea Handler

Author of My Horizontal Life and Are You There Vodka, It’s Me Chelsea.

Don’t you dare close this browser window! Hear me out. She’s hilarious. She’s an icon for young women today. Right now, she is reinventing how young women think about their sexuality. So I am definitely sitting her next to bell hooks. (And I expect Chuy to come along, so I’m cheating and he’ll be my sixth guest! After all, he wrote a book, too.)

(From BornAgainPagan.com)

{4} Neil deGrasse Tyson

Author of Space Chronicles and The Pluto Files: The Rise and Fall of America’s Favorite Planet.

We have to have some science talk at my fantasy lit party! And with fighting words like this, it can be assured that NDT will provide many insightful thoughts and ideas. I’m putting him at the end of the table, in case arm flaying gets out of control.

(From Sqapo.com)

{5} Mary Wollstonecraft

Author of A Vindication of the Rights of Women and A Vindication of the Rights of Men.

Not her daughter, Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley who wrote Frankenstein, but the original Mary Wollstonecraft is invited to my fantasy lit party so we can all hear her early feminist views, coming to us all the way from the late 1700s. I like trend-setters.

Now for you, who would you invite to your fantasy lit party?

About julieschicklit

My book blog is dedicated to finding books, stories & ideas that redefine women's literature to be something smarter & funnier. More RAWResome lit for ladies. I am remaining some-what anonymous because I have a day job. My Man-Beast and I are soon going to live abroad in China, so that's why I'm a reblog-aholic.

One comment

  1. Pingback: Stumped As A Stegosaur … Again | julie chicklitasaurus

Leave a comment like a good litasaurus

