{Music is Poetry} Girl Named Tennessee by Need To Breathe

{Music is Poetry}

Call me crazy, but I would love to live in Tennessee. Maybe because my dad is originally from there, so I grew up hearing all about it. But I also watch “House Hunters,” and homes in Tennessee are affordable and have character!

Call me even crazier, but this song from South Carolinian rock bank, Need To Breathe, makes me want to move there even more. Just look at their Halloween costumes! Look at all the wonderful women who have come from Tennessee! (Maybe I can be one some day?)

They say this lasts forever
That’s just what I’m afraid of
I’ll never dance like this again
She smiles like a Georgia summer
She laughs at the sound of thunder
I wanna dance like this again

I’m not the marrying kind
I’ve said a thousand times
I’ve never danced like this before
She’s got the prettiest shoes
And I love the way she moves
I wanna dance like this again

I was free and far from home
I was young and on my own
I was blind as I could be
Thinking love was not for me
‘Til the night I met that girl named Tennessee

Lights came down and the room spun slow
Started saying she had to go
Don’t go baby, I didn’t catch your name
She said, “Don’t worry. I did not say.”

Oh she danced away with my heart and soul
Who she was I will never know
Danced away with my hopes and dreams
My sweet girl from Tennessee

I was free and far from home
I was young and on my own
I was blind as I could be
Thinking love was not for me
‘Til the night I met that girl named Tennessee

(From Youtellconcerts.com)

About julieschicklit

My book blog is dedicated to finding books, stories & ideas that redefine women's literature to be something smarter & funnier. More RAWResome lit for ladies. I am remaining some-what anonymous because I have a day job. My Man-Beast and I are soon going to live abroad in China, so that's why I'm a reblog-aholic.

Leave a comment like a good litasaurus

