{Review} Squirrel Seeks Chipmunk by David Sedaris

See that yarn? That’s going to be my crocheted ASU scarf… in 10 years.

I’ve had a diverse adventure in literature lately!

Finished “Squirrel Seeks Chipmunk” in one day. Read the “The BFG” by Roald Dahl the day before. Read “Bossypants” by Tina Fey and loved it. Want to make “Bossypants” the mascot of my website, but I can’t do that to my dino. Received my signed copy of “House on Plunkett Street” by Lorena Bathey.

About 15% through the four-book set of “Game of Thrones,” which, according to my calculations [types ferociously on a calculator] means I’ll be done in [more manic typing] fourteen years.

Lastly, will read “Unlikely Arrangement” by Patty Wiseman next. Phew! [Wipe brow. Yeah, just one brow.]

And now, to the review.

Squirrel Seeks Chipmunk” is a brilliant and funny commentary on social issues in America.¬†Values, morals, racism, social status, sexism, religion. Nothing is off limits as David Sedaris plays out various social scenarios. But these situations are all acted out with rhinos, crows, sheep, turtles, frogs, foxes, etc. If you could stop yourself from laughing out loud for a while (or daydreaming about hanging out with Sedaris in some hipster/trendy coffee shop in the East Village) then you probably can find some witty metaphors with the animals. But you can look for that the second time you read “Squirrel Seeks Chipmunk,” because you will want to read it again.

Expect to see reviews of other Sedaris books, such as “When You Are Engulfed in Flames,” “Me Talk Pretty One Day” and, with some timeliness, “Holidays on Ice,” on here soon.

Julie Chicklitasaurus devoured this book.

About julieschicklit

My book blog is dedicated to finding books, stories & ideas that redefine women's literature to be something smarter & funnier. More RAWResome lit for ladies. I am remaining some-what anonymous because I have a day job. My Man-Beast and I are soon going to live abroad in China, so that's why I'm a reblog-aholic.

3 comments

  1. I love David Sedaris! I have many of his books. Glad you enjoyed the book!

    (sidenote: there are 5 books in the Game of Thrones series out right now, and 2 more on the way!… I hope you enjoy that too; it’s one of my favorite series of all time!)

Leave a comment like a good litasaurus

