{Poem of the Day} Wild Nights! Wild Nights! by Emily Dickinson

{Poem of the Day}

Had cooking club with my gals last night and it was a hoot. I enjoy my once-a-month meeting with girl friends to eat, drink and sit around clucking like a bunch of hens. I love even more coming home to Man-Beast to sit together on the couch, drinking port and catching up on “Dexter.” Oh, such wild nights you have when you’re 29!

Dancing in the Rain

“Wild Nights! Wild Nights!”

by Emily Dickinson (1830 – 1886)

Wild Nights – Wild Nights!
Were I with thee
Wild Nights should be
Our luxury!

Futile – the Winds–
To a Heart in port–
Done with the Compass–
Done with the Chart!

Rowing in Eden–
Ah, the Sea!
Might I but moor – Tonight–
In Thee!

To learn more about the famous American poet, go here.

About julieschicklit

My book blog is dedicated to finding books, stories & ideas that redefine women's literature to be something smarter & funnier. More RAWResome lit for ladies. I am remaining some-what anonymous because I have a day job. My Man-Beast and I are soon going to live abroad in China, so that's why I'm a reblog-aholic.

2 comments

  1. Nice post and reminder of what an awesome poet she was. Last week I listened to this author being interviewed on NPR who reads a couple of books a week and who’s written a book about it. One of the persons he mentioned was Emily Dickinson, and he said something like, “The only way to address her is on your knees.”

Leave a comment like a good litasaurus

