{Review} Bossypants by Tina Fey

Well, you had to of known this was coming.

My blog is, after all, about kick ass literature for women. And who else is the mascot for smart and funny women other than Tina Fey?

Although, I have to confess a sin.

I didn’t laugh out loud (AKA, LOL) throughout this book as much as I thought I was going to.

To be completely honest, I had more fun reading Chelsea Handler’s “My Horizontal Life.” (Which one of my friends in another state borrowed and never returned! Never lend out your books! Never!)

That’s because my life is closer to Handler’s than Fey’s. But that doesn’t mean I didn’t love Tina’s book.

She has great insights into what feminism means today. She includes advice for women in management positions. Fey also discusses an issue many women face today: family versus work.

Fey with her daughter

For her next book, I’d love to read less self-deprecating humor. Can we all agree that us gals have worn that one out?

I do have one great story about reading this book. I was reading “Bossypants” while I subbed in a high school classroom. One of the boys saw what I was reading and then went into a rant about how much he loves Tina Fey and 30 Rock. I was quite proud of that lad in that moment. And I think Tina is a feminist who both men and women can love. Which is the ultimate purpose of feminism. So that is also good.

So what is next for this new-age Mary Wollstonecraft? A movie with Paul Rudd! Watch the trailer here.

Julie Chicklitasaurus devoured this book.

About julieschicklit

My book blog is dedicated to finding books, stories & ideas that redefine women's literature to be something smarter & funnier. More RAWResome lit for ladies. I am remaining some-what anonymous because I have a day job. My Man-Beast and I are soon going to live abroad in China, so that's why I'm a reblog-aholic.

3 comments

  1. I haven’t read this yet, and I never really intended to because the cover kind of turns me off. But maybe I’ll check it out 🙂

  2. I read this book last year while working in management and can’t count how many times I quoted Tina to my women coworkers “….and another thing Tina said was….” Loved it and looking forward to reading more on your site. Thanks for the follow!!

Leave a comment like a good litasaurus

