Eff Black Friday

(I’m feeling kind of vulgar lately, you’ll have to excuse me. First it was “What in the Hell is a Hipster,” and now it’s “Eff Black Friday.” These holidays are causing me to rebel in my word choices!)

{Crazy Ideas}

Black Friday is starting on Thursday this year, and I am with Casey St. Clair

that is effing ridiculous.

The Target employee has become a recent Internet sensation with her petition to her employer, Target, to not start Black Friday on Thursday. She, as many people, think even Target employees should have the entire day of Thanksgiving off to be with family.

Target came back to say she could have the day off (though she didn’t take it off because she doesn’t think that would be fair to her co-workers), but they are still opening all of their stores on Thursday for Black Friday bargains.

But they missed the big picture.

And all the people who will shop on Black Friday/Thursday are just as guilty.

Christmas is a Christian holiday, and the Christian religion does not make a point to glorify greed and materialism. So it’s actually very un-Christian-like, very anti-Christmas, to go Christmas shopping for a bunch of stuff that you do not need.

You do not need another flat screen TV.

Your kids do not need “Call of Duty,” or whatever stupid game just came out.

You do not need any of those material things.

Take Thanksgiving for what it is this year. Eat, drink and be merry with people you care about.

The turkey and I have a stare down, circa 1984

Do NOT go shopping. If you have to go, then make every day Small Business Saturday.

And here’s an even crazier idea. Don’t do gifts this Christmas. If you feel such a need to spend money, take your family or friends on a trip. Nothing outrageous. Go on a staycation.

Make memories instead of debt. Because memories (you know how I’m going to end this, so say it with me!)…

last longer!

About julieschicklit

My book blog is dedicated to finding books, stories & ideas that redefine women's literature to be something smarter & funnier. More RAWResome lit for ladies. I am remaining some-what anonymous because I have a day job. My Man-Beast and I are soon going to live abroad in China, so that's why I'm a reblog-aholic.

3 comments

  1. I’ve always enjoyed giving some special gifts on Christmas, but I agree with you. It has gotten way out of hand, and causes the same rebellion in me.

  2. AGREEEEEED. I am so sick of the greedy shopping dramatics on Black Friday. We spend Thanksgiving being thankful for what we have, and then go out on Friday (or Thursday night) and prove that isn’t true at all. Blech.

  3. I often wonder how many people really go shopping then? Or is more a marketing ploy from the stores? Either way, I never go shopping on Black Friday. I’m a Christmas Eve shopper!

Leave a comment like a good litasaurus

