{Guest Post} Too Close by Barbara Brooke

glimmers(1)

Today’s {Guest Post} is from author Barbara Brooke. Her latest book, “Glimmers,” was recently released and has been going around on a book blog tour (remember Brookie Groupie?) Below is an original poem by Ms. Brookie, but I have to warn you, it might be a bit scary. Keep the lights on for this one.

“Too Close”

By Barbara Brooke

They’re close.
Voices loud and fierce,
Slapping faces with words.
A scream …
A cry …
They’re getting closer.

Did I lock the door?
It’s too late to check.
They’re coming.
I barely move, barely breathe.
Perhaps they’ll go away.
But they’re getting closer.

The door slams against the wall.
My eyes squeeze shut.
This curtain is not a shield.
They’re here.
They’ve come for me.
I freeze.

Metal rings clank together.
My barrier is cast aside.
I open my eyes.
Reddened eyes glare at one another …
But not at me.
I wonder.

A moment of silence …
Water streams down my face.
Steam rolls around my flesh.
I glare at the intruders
And slide the curtain between us.
I wait.

He shrieks,
“She took my glow stick!”
She howls,
“No, I didn’t!”
I scowl.
“Go tell your father about it.”

They leave.
I inhale the lavender mist.
Slather bubbles over my skin.
Five more minutes …
And, next time,
I shall lock the door.

{In Barbara Brooke’s words}

“I read this poem to a friend of mine.

“Her response was, ‘That was scary.’ She doesn’t have children, and I could hear the fear in her trembling voice.

“I laughed, ‘I know. This happened to me last night.’

“I, as a mother, relish in those few precious moments during the sacred shower or bath. Just thinking about it calms my nerves. Don’t get me wrong: I adore my children, but I also adore having a few minutes to myself — away from the wailing, fighting and demands. All right, my house isn’t full of torment. It’s rather (how should I put this?) entertaining.

“My kids and husband are the loves of my life. But along with that love comes a ton of work. I’ve given up on recreating the perfect Pottery Barn home. The truth is that toys have taken over my family room. I watch Mary Poppins, and no matter how many spoonfuls of sugar I eat, action figures won’t march into a bin with the snap of my fingers.

“Why do I write? Because, I am able to create wonders with a click of my keyboard. I turn my computer on, and suddenly, I’m whisked into a world full of wonder and amazement. The universe bends to my will and defies physics. But when the afternoon arrives, I must return to my duties. I leave the comfort of my home and crawl through the elementary school carpool line. When I see the brightened faces of my children, my heart flutters, and I realize I can live with a few straggling toys … as long as I can escape into the shower later.”

Want to be a Brookie groupie? Go to these blogs for the rest of Barbara’s tour.

*   *   *   *   *   *   *

All of this was made possible by Candace’s Book Promotions.

cbb(1)

About julieschicklit

My book blog is dedicated to finding books, stories & ideas that redefine women's literature to be something smarter & funnier. More RAWResome lit for ladies. I am remaining some-what anonymous because I have a day job. My Man-Beast and I are soon going to live abroad in China, so that's why I'm a reblog-aholic.

5 comments

  1. barbarabrooke

    I rarely write poems, rather leaving it to the true poets. It was fun to dive into that side of myself and offer it to your lovely/humorous blogsite. Thanks!

  2. I loved this poem! I was completely hooked. You should dive into that side more often! xo

    • barbarabrooke

      I thought it would either come across as really, really ridiculous or pretty darn funny 🙂 I’m relieved you like it.

  3. This was awesome! Oh man, I am ALWAYS sure to lock the door when I take a bath but it sure doesn’t stop them from whining and crying at it the whole time!
    Thanks again for hosting a stop Julie!

Leave a comment like a good litasaurus

