Record Player From Grandma

Even though I love to write on my blog, play Words with Friends and update Twitter with the latest happenings of my cat, sometimes I feel consumed by modern technology. Like I need a break from the TV, smart phone, i-anything and, yes, maybe even my Kindle!

(Books with pages are such wonderful things.)

Well, one way I have found to gather friends and family around without the distractions of modern-day technology is to feature a vintage piece of technology in my living room.

IMG_4178

A great gift from grandma.

Man-Beast was very fortunate to inherit this record player from his grandma before she passed. We feel it’s extra special because it was hers. But Target also sells newly-made record players (that also play CDs and tapes! Oh my!)

So we brought it out on Thanksgiving so that we could listen to music while we visited with our guests. And it’s just great to hear music with scratches in it. Sometimes imperfections are perfect reminders of great times from the past.

IMG_4180

Good old Bing.

IMG_4159

“This is MY copy of Abbey Road, yes?”

IMG_4160

An original.

IMG_4197

We don’t have a fire place so I hung our stockings above the record player.

What’s your favorite piece of vintage technology? Jukebox? Nintendo? Flip phone?

About julieschicklit

My book blog is dedicated to finding books, stories & ideas that redefine women's literature to be something smarter & funnier. More RAWResome lit for ladies. I am remaining some-what anonymous because I have a day job. My Man-Beast and I are soon going to live abroad in China, so that's why I'm a reblog-aholic.

2 comments

  1. Yeah! That’s what we said when we found it!

Leave a comment like a good litasaurus

