Look What I Got for Christmas!

My nana’s old sewing machine! My dad said it might have been my nana’s mother’s. It’s so special all the same. I love anything that’s passed down in my family

IMG_4312

Singer featherweight

IMG_4314

Circa late 1940s

IMG_4317

My sister had it last and she used that old, tin cigarette box for the bobbins. When my mom saw it, my mom who is Betty Crocker, she said, “Isn’t that cute?” My, how parents change over the years.

IMG_4323

Look at that gorgeous gold medallion!

IMG_4327

And the beautiful design on the silver part (I don’t know what it’s called. But it’s pretty.)

IMG_4328

Just look at the detailing! Super gorg.

IMG_4330

When I put all the pins in the cushion thing, it made me think of “Pin Head,” that scary movie from the 90s … anyone remember that one? The guy’s head literally looked like this cushion.

IMG_4331

There’s that cute cigarette box again.

IMG_4332

The bobbins.

IMG_4336

Don’t I look distinguished!? Books, sewing machine, degree in the background. Now I just need a smoking jacket!

IMG_4338

What a beaut.

What family heirlooms have you inherited?

And I promise things on the blog will be back to normal next week. If you’re anything like me, you’ve taken a break from normal life for the holidays. Here’s a quick update for what I have been up to:

  • Got the new iPhone 5! So happy to finally have a smart phone. So guilty that the one I got was assembled by a 12 year old girl in China.
  • Fought with Man-Beast in Best Buy about what cover I should have got for my iPhone. I wanted the awesome Chewbacca cover that had real fake fur on it and a yellow sash! He told me I really need to look like an adult and try to appear “professional.” So I got a blue cover. Maybe for my iPad (that I’ll get in five years) I’ll get the C-3PO cover! Maybe they’ll have the Ninja Turtles by then.
  • My parents were in town for Christmas! They had to lug this heavy sewing machine around two different airports, for two different delays and layovers. Poor things. Man-Beast and I took them straight to Total Wine once they finally made it in. That’s how we show appreciation in this house.
  • Been snowboarding and now I can’t really move. At all. Typing is the extent of it.
  • Going downtown tonight for New Year’s and I’m wondering if I’ll need a wheelchair for getting around?
  • Trying to figure out what to wear for New Year’s that is a) sexy, b) comfortable, c) easy to walk in, and d) resembles a disco ball in some way. I’m thinking a bedazzeled Snuggie.

What are you doing for New Year’s? And what will you be wearing!?

About julieschicklit

My book blog is dedicated to finding books, stories & ideas that redefine women's literature to be something smarter & funnier. More RAWResome lit for ladies. I am remaining some-what anonymous because I have a day job. My Man-Beast and I are soon going to live abroad in China, so that's why I'm a reblog-aholic.

4 comments

  1. what a lovely vintage sewing machine!!

  2. barbarabrooke

    I have the same machine ~ it was my grandmother’s and a treasure.

Leave a comment like a good litasaurus

