{Poem of the Day} I Am From by Julie Chicklitasaurus

This was a class assignment and I just loved it. I’m sure this poem is super cheese (haha! You’ll get that pun in just a moment), but it’s a fun exercise to do with kids or friends or loved ones of any kind. The deal is that every stanza has to start with the phrase, “I am from…” I just happened to make mine about food, because that’s what I’m thinking about most of the time. So here is my gem, and if you make one yourself, please email it to me at Julieschicklit@gmail.com and I would love to post it for you!

205

View of the mountains from my parent’s backyard

“I am From”

By Julie Chicklitasaurus

I am from Cornish pasties,

Meat and potatoes and onions.

A big warm pie,

With all the best ingredients inside.

Delicious pasties, grandma's signature recipe

I am from casserole country,

Throw it all together and mix.

Hot spices, filling dumplings, Pop’s baked beans.

We all fit together in one big baking dish.

One of the many beautiful places I am from (a benefit of being a Navy brat!)

I am from the world,

England, Ireland, France.

We all met together this side of the world,

In Seattle, Montana, Louisiana, Arizona.

Well, I'm not from this castle, but the country it's in, yes (From Man-Beast's photo collection)

I am from life events,

Vietnam, Down’s Syndrome, women’s rights.

We all stood for those who needed help,

In us all is someone wanting to fight.

Lion guards a DC memorial where one of my family member's name is

I am from Grandma Teddy,

With her love of animals big and small.

In a dream she came to me,

And said, “I’ve always loved you.”

Baby Panther warming her buns on the heating pad. Grandma would be proud.

I am from Nana Ida,

Whose beauty I’ve always been intrigued.

But her smarts were identifiable,

For how she kept her name.

Close to another place where I once lived

I am from Grandpa Herb,

In our love of Wheaties and rain.

In his recent passing I found comfort,

In soon seeing him in my dreams.

 

IMG_0793

I am from Pop, my sugar.

Who endearing sense of time,

Leaves me forever wondering,

Will we be together in the end?

300

Email your “I am from” poem to Julieschicklit@gmail.com to be featured on here!

About julieschicklit

My book blog is dedicated to finding books, stories & ideas that redefine women's literature to be something smarter & funnier. More RAWResome lit for ladies. I am remaining some-what anonymous because I have a day job. My Man-Beast and I are soon going to live abroad in China, so that's why I'm a reblog-aholic.

Leave a comment like a good litasaurus

