{Review} Let’s Pretend This Never Happened by Jenny Lawson

The 2012-released autobiography from blogger Jenny Lawson (who is probably best known on the web for her post about surprising her grumpy husband by buying a giant chicken) is like a wild and memorable ladies’ night in each chapter.

Lawson rambles on through each chapter with hilarious stories from her childhood, all the way through now. She sews in emotional issues as well, including pregnancy, social anxiety, losing pets and health problems. But the touching parts mix in well with all the laughs for a really great read that will resonate with you in one way or another.

And don’t forget the f-bombs and vagina references!

I thought a pic of my dino reading this book was appropriate. But it's not a real taxidermic dino. Otherwise I would be a Trillionaire!

I thought a pic of my dino reading this book was appropriate, since taxidermy is talked about a lot in the book. But it’s not a real taxidermic dino. Otherwise I would be a Trillionaire!

This book is exactly the kind of women’s literature I set out to find when I re-started this blog last year. In my “About” section, I talk about redefining women’s lit to being something smarter and funnier, and Lawson’s book is exactly that. So from here on out, I pledge to not review anymore books that aren’t such.

Which means no animated covers. Sorry chick lit ladies.

But this is Julie’s chick lit, not regular chick lit. This is about how I see books for women. This blog is about finding books that are edgy, funny, witty, different – just like everyone is underneath it all.

So embrace the wonderfully crazy, wonderfully abnormal person in you and read “Let’s Pretend This Never Happened.” That crazy lady in you will thank you for it.

Julie Chicklitasaurus devoured this book.

Julie Chicklitasaurus devoured this book.

Get “Let’s Pretend This Never Happened” by Jenny Lawson and get the ladies’ nights started.

Follow Lawson’s hilarious blog and stay tuned for updates on (a hopeful) book two.

About julieschicklit

My book blog is dedicated to finding books, stories & ideas that redefine women's literature to be something smarter & funnier. More RAWResome lit for ladies. I am remaining some-what anonymous because I have a day job. My Man-Beast and I are soon going to live abroad in China, so that's why I'm a reblog-aholic.

2 comments

  1. Pingback: {Review} How to be a Woman by Caitlin Moran | julie's chick lit

  2. I love The Bloggess and this review! 🙂

Leave a comment like a good litasaurus

