Wine & Popcorn

Last night was a ladies’ night with our local chapter of Van Gogh and Merlot. If you haven’t heard of groups like this, it’s when a local artist rents out a space, like a local winery or coffee shop, and then teaches you how to paint a certain picture, all while you drink wine and enjoy an appetizer with your friends.

Last night was my first time going. I order a cabernet and the fancy popcorn. Honestly, their choices of “appetizers” were garlic almonds or fancy popcorn. So I went with the corn! You can never go wrong with the that.

Then we all got to painting. The artist showed us step-by-step how to make this painting. Here is what our painting was supposed to look like.

Tapped to the back of my canvas

Taped to the back of my canvas

And here is what I made.

Popcorn and wine, anyone?

Popcorn and wine, anyone?

Now, I’m not going to be a typical girl here and passively aggressively complain about what I don’t like. I’m going to point out what’s RAWResome!

1. The top of the bottle on the left ended up looking like a giant middle finger. So I labeled that wine, “F.U.” I think I am onto a genius marketing plot here, people. Wouldn’t you buy this wine for your boss for Christmas?

2. The octopus only has seven legs. Seven, glorious, long, dancer’s legs. I really liked the way she turned out.

3. Instead of painting the cliche grapes with my wine, I painted popcorn. Because that’s what I was eating. And because it’s a much tastier snack than just grapes. Unless they’re frozen grapes. But the little icicles would have been hard to paint, me thinks.

What snacks do you like to drink with your wine?

About julieschicklit

My book blog is dedicated to finding books, stories & ideas that redefine women's literature to be something smarter & funnier. More RAWResome lit for ladies. I am remaining some-what anonymous because I have a day job. My Man-Beast and I are soon going to live abroad in China, so that's why I'm a reblog-aholic.

3 comments

  1. I love this post! Your rendition is unique and quirky and it made me smile. Two thumbs up! Oh, and pass the popcorn, would ya?

  2. monkeyfacekim

    Ahaha! Your paintings are certainly RAWResome!! Unfortunately, I am a little too young to drink wine… but I drink soda! I like to munch on fries with my soda 🙂

  3. Gotta have Pepsi with popcorn. Gotta have.

Leave a comment like a good litasaurus

