Hydroponic Cilantro Hummus

The great thing about being married to a scientist is having fresh herbs in the winter! (Tangent: scroll to the bottom for a fun story about the word “herbs!” Yeah, it’s an actual good story about the word “herbs.”)

photo-7

“You ever seen the back of a twenty dollar bill, man … on CILANTRO!”

Man-Beast recently brought home all of these herbs from his la-bore-a-tory. I am thinking up as many creative ideas for all these herbs as I can. Today, I thought I would add some cilantro to my hummus.

photo-4

“I didn’t know the horse was a diabetic!”

{Recipe}

1 can garbanzo beans, drained

3 Tablespoons olive oil

little squirt of lemon juice

1 heaping teaspoon minced garlic

lots of sprigs of cilantro (I can’t give you a specific number. I just went crazy! I kept adding cilantro leaves. Tasting it. Adding more. Taste again. But I will tell you that I did make a mess. So that is probably key.)

two big leaves of basil

salt and pepper to taste

Mix all of these in a food processor until smooth. It’s fun to watch the leaves on top get mixed into the middle and then to the bottom. Serve with pita chips or veggies. Serve on your falafel, too.

photo-9

What else do you think I should do with my massive amounts of hydroponic basil, cilantro, thyme, sage and oregano?

*   *   *   *   *

An Actual Good Story About The Word “Herbs”

My study abroad to Oxford University in 2005 was like visiting Harry Potter Land. Before Florida stole it. Oxford had the Harry Potter dining hall and everything!

Every morning and evening, we ate our meals in this Hogwarts dining hall. One morning, Professor Lupin (not his real name, but he was a cutie just like Lupin was) sat next to me and we started the typical conversation of “how do Americans and Brits say the same words differently.”

Prof Luppy said Americans pronounce “herbs” by really annunciating the ‘h,’ where Brits don’t really say the ‘h.’

I said, “What about the name, Herb? Do you say it the same way you would say herb, the plant?”

“No one is really named Herb anymore,” said The Lupe. “Do you know anyone with the name Herb?”

“Yes!” I said. “My grandpa!”

Professor Lupin kind of stuck up his nose. “Herb is really a name for a silly man. Is your grandfather a silly man?”

I thought for a moment. “Well, he is Irish!”

This made Lupinykins laugh. I also made myself laugh with this one. And I laugh really loud. My friends in college called it my cackle.

So I think after this Professor Lupin was done with me. But I was glad for the opportunity to show a serious, old British man that sometimes it’s okay to have fun. Sometimes it’s okay to put away the sarcasm. Sometimes it’s fun to tell a real joke.

But what’s not okay is calling a serious, old British man “Lupykins” for three months. Apparently that makes me a silly woman.

About julieschicklit

My book blog is dedicated to finding books, stories & ideas that redefine women's literature to be something smarter & funnier. More RAWResome lit for ladies. I am remaining some-what anonymous because I have a day job. My Man-Beast and I are soon going to live abroad in China, so that's why I'm a reblog-aholic.

4 comments

  1. An Irishman named Herb. My grandmother would smile. 🙂

  2. My dad’s name is Herb, he’s not Irish but can drink like one.

  3. TW – Your grandma must have been an awesome lady.

    Elizabeth – That’s all that really matters, right!? 🙂

  4. How nice to have those fresh herbs all winter long! I put cilantro in almost everything (particularly soups and stews). One of my favorites is Moqueca/Brazilian Fish Stew.

Leave a comment like a good litasaurus

