{30 to 30} Job Search Around the World

I have been so busy since I’ve returned from San Francisco that I haven’t had time to write! Time to take a big creative dump.

Man-Beast and I went to San Francisco for an international job fair. We are hoping to go on a worldly adventure for the next few years. The job fair was busy and emotional. It also felt like a mini-tour of the world. We made some good connections with some good people. Here are some of the places in the world to which we may move.

{Changdu, China}

Chengdu2Perk: home to the giant panda!

This would be my job - lugging giant pandas around

This would be my job – lugging around giant pandas!

{Quito, Ecuador}

ecuador

Perk: they have a cloud forest!

cloud forest

I might need to navigate with my … Cloud Atlas … ha. Get it? Cloud Atlas? Tom Hanks.

{Skobje, Macedonia}

macedonia

Perk: it’s right by Greece!

I would run through here singing all the songs from the “Mama Mia” soundtrack! The Greeks would LOVE me!

{Tainan City, Taiwan}

taiwan

Perk: lantern festivals!

I would bring them all home! Which may or may not be legal!

Job searching around the world reminds me of how much there is to experience outside of the United States. I love the States because there really are so many climates: forests, plains, rainforests, islands, mountains. We offer something for everyone.

But I want to experience being an outsider in another country. Not knowing the food. Not knowing the language. Not knowing the social norms. I think the experience of being an outsider will make me a better insider for when we move back to the US. If we move back to the US.

We haven’t made any decisions yet. Where do you think we should go?

* * * * *

Here’s what we have so far in my journey of {30 to 30}

1. What to do in the next year

2. Give up on the search for a BFF

3. Host Christmas

4. Have a white Christmas

5. Be nicer to my niece

6. Tell someone to eff off

About julieschicklit

My book blog is dedicated to finding books, stories & ideas that redefine women's literature to be something smarter & funnier. More RAWResome lit for ladies. I am remaining some-what anonymous because I have a day job. My Man-Beast and I are soon going to live abroad in China, so that's why I'm a reblog-aholic.

15 comments

  1. How exciting. I spent 5 1/2 years living in China and now that I am back, I appreciate having that experience more then I thought I would. The opportunity for me came about unexpected. But, I always wanted to live overseas. Good luck with your job search and your new adventure.

  2. Pingback: {30 to 30} Complete the Goodall Challenge | julie's chick lit

  3. Wow what exciting prospects! You’re so lucky that your professions offer so much flexibility 🙂 I haven’t been to any of the exact cities you mentioned, but they all sound like they’d be an adventure.

  4. Pingback: Top 10 RAWResome Blog Posts {Feb. 24 – Mar. 2} | julie's chick lit

  5. Pingback: {30 to 30} Solve America’s Gun Problem! | julie's chick lit

  6. Pingback: {30 to 30} Solve America’s Bathroom Problem! | julie's chick lit

  7. Oh, all the travel you could do in and around Macedonia. Everything is close. 🙂 Living in Europe is so convenient – I’m shocked by how many people in places like England didn’t take advantage of it!

    I considered living in Taiwan, but I’d just been living in Korea and felt like I needed to head back to the West for a while. All the staring… it’s a novelty for a little while, but sometimes you want to go unnoticed 🙂

  8. Pingback: {30 to 30} Move to a Different Country! | julie's chick lit

  9. I like that you went to an international job fair, picked a place, and went!

  10. Pingback: {30 to 30} Get Horrible Picture Taken With Jane Goodall | julie chicklitasaurus

  11. Pingback: {30 to 30} Accept Rejection Gracefully | julie chicklitasaurus

Leave a comment like a good litasaurus

