{Review} The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

{Spoiler alert! But then again, this book was first published in 1925.}

Gatsby looks out into South San Francisco. Wonders to himself, "I should have stayed in the west ... West Coast is the best coast."

Gatsby looks out into South San Francisco. Wonders to himself, “I should have stayed in the west … West Coast is the best coast.”

I had to read it before the movie came out. So on our flight to and from San Francisco, I drank it all in.

Get it, drank it all in?

There’s a lot of drinking in the book.

The book wasn’t great. I was easily confused by old Scotties writing style. It just wasn’t my thing, baby.

The ending was interesting, how Gatsby fell from his pedestal that the main guy put him on (what was his name again? Oh, that’s right. I don’t care. He was too vanilla. So Tobey Maguire is the perfect fit!) But Gatsby wasn’t as suave as the guy originally thought, and we saw old Gatsber through a realistic lens at that point.

Speaking of realistic, the movie is directed by the same person who did Romeo & Juliet in the 90s and Moulin Rouge. So it’s going to be weird and have modern day music. Why do you have to do modern day music? It’s the roaring 20s! You don’t have to fiddle with it. It was fancy enough. Anyway, the movie is going to stink. See for yourself.

At least it’s got Leo in it. I think I still have a Tiger’s Beat poster of him somewhere in my memory box.

leonardo-dicaprio

Tiger Beat … getting every young girl ready for ‘Fifty Shades of Grey’ fifteen years later.

It’s just too bad when so many people talk about a book and say it’s a classic. Then you read it. And then it’s not.

Julie Chicklitasaurus nibbled this book.

Julie Chicklitasaurus nibbled this book.

About julieschicklit

My book blog is dedicated to finding books, stories & ideas that redefine women's literature to be something smarter & funnier. More RAWResome lit for ladies. I am remaining some-what anonymous because I have a day job. My Man-Beast and I are soon going to live abroad in China, so that's why I'm a reblog-aholic.

8 comments

  1. Don’t worry – the movie isn’t modern or a musical. Baz Luhrmann is an Australian director (the movie was filmed here in Australia), and the first of his ‘Red Carpet Trilogy’ movies (the trilogy includes Romeo + Juliet and Moulin Rouge) was Strictly Ballroom, which definitely isn’t a musical. I think it’s just that Americans are most familiar with the things he does with singing 🙂
    He also directed movies like ‘Australia’ with Nicole Kidman and Hugh Jackman.

    Some of these classic books that are made into movies are books I don’t think I’ll ever read. I read enough classics at university to know there aren’t many I actually enjoy!

  2. I know it’s not going to be a musical, I meant that I don’t like when a movie is set in the 20s has hip hop or rock music featured in it. And I couldn’t even finish “Australia!” Old Baz is not my favorite director.

  3. I should reread this book now that I’m of drinking age… I wonder if it will be like watching the movie Sideways, where it just feels wrong to do unless you are holding a drink in your hand like the rest of the characters.

    I remember liking the book, I’m not sure how I feel about the movie. DiCaprio isn’t one of my favorite actors of all time – he has had some good roles though, so I’ll at least give the movie a go.

  4. So sad you didn’t like it! It’s one of my faves. I am totally stoked for the movie and think Leo was the perfect choice for Gatsby.

    • You know, it wasn’t horrible. I’m sure if I sat in a lit class and really tore it apart, I’d find it more enjoyable. Maybe I’ll suggest it for my next book club? Those gals always have good insight! xo

      • I love making my book club read classics :). It’s my way of getting back at them for all the depressing memoirs! But right now I am having them read the third in the Carlos Ruiz Zafon series, The Prisoner of Heaven. Do you know his books? Such fun, delicious, Spanish Gothic mysteries.

      • I have had “Shadow of the Wind” on my bookshelf for years now and have always been meaning to read it. I think I’ll add it to my queue now. Which one of his is your favorite, that you’ve read so far?

      • Hmmm. That’s hard to decide. This third one really tied things together in a way that made me gasp out loud a few times, but the magic of that first one, Shadow of the Wind, can’t be beat. So glad you already have it! It’s worth following through the series. Enjoy!

Leave a comment like a good litasaurus

