Sunshine Award

My friend over at I Am A Writing Monkey nominated me for a Sunshine Award and I’m so thankful!

sunshine award

The Sunshine Award is an award given by bloggers to other bloggers. The recipients of the Sunshine Award are: “Bloggers who positively and creatively inspire others in the blogsphere”. The way the award works is this: Thank the person who gave you the award and link back to them. Answer questions about yourself. Select 10 of your favourite bloggers, link their blogs to your post and let them know they have been awarded the Sunshine Award!

For The Sunshine Award, you have to answer the following ten questions and then nominate ten other bloggers. Sounds like chain mail!? Probably is! But what the hell, it’s an award! Adding it to my resume now …

{QUESTIONS}

What inspired you to start blogging?

I was working for a magazine in Phoenix in a kickass editorial department. We were so kickass, we drew this on our office wall:

051

This was at the height of the YouTube sensation “Shoes” by Kelly. We took a 3pm YouTube break everyday. Kickass, right? And that is our editor on the right, wearing high heels and sexually harassing one of the copy editors.

Anyway, my fellow kickass editorial and design co-workers were starting these fabulous independent projects and I thought I would too. I’ve always loved books, so I thought that had to be the focus of my blog.

How did you come up with the name to your blog?

I am Julie, the blog is about books for women. The dinosaur theme came later, otherwise this blog would be called, “Julie Chicklitasaurus.” Though that would be tough for some people to spell.

What is your favorite blog you like to read?

CuteOverload.com and Dlisted.com are the cutest and raunchiest (respectively) blogs and I’ve been a fan of both of them for years.

Tell about your dream job.

I would travel to see every culture in the world, taste every food, pet every animal and hear every story. What’s that called? Maybe it’s called being God. Maybe it’s not possible. But a gal can dream!

Another dream job would to be to create a RAWResome Blogger Award. WINK!

the-sunshine-award2

If you Google image “Sunshine Award,” this little diddy comes up a lot. Isn’t it pretty?

Is your glass half empty or half full?

My glass is always half full of either a brown ale, a margarita or red wine! But not in the same night. I’ve been to college. I know better.

If you could go anywhere for a week’s vacation, where would you go?

The bottom of the ocean. Not really a vacation, but it is the most exclusive spot in the world, right? Those giant squids can be so snotty.

What food can you absolutely not eat?

I don’t eat any cute animals: cows, pigs, goats or lamb. Yeah, chickens are kind of cute, but I’ll still eat ’em. Turkeys are kinda growing on me too. I love how they scream their gobbles at me in the morning when I get in my car.

But fish, no not them. They’re some ugly mother effers. So I eat them. Especially on sushi rolls.

They’re kinda asking for it

Dark chocolate or milk chocolate?

How about this … dark chocolate milk. Eh? Yeah? I’m taking that idea to Shark Tank!

How much time do you spend blogging?

It depends, because I have this thing called a “job” and I have to earn an “income.” I’d love to do it all day, everyday … maybe someday. (Did I just write a Haiku?)

Do you watch TV, and if so, what are some of your favorite shows?

Game of Thrones (I am a Stark – winter is coming, y’all), Dexter (I kinda want Dexter and Debra to end up going off together – does that make me weird?) and Impractical Jokers.

And now, the envelope please …

{NOMINEES}

1. Fairy Burger

2. Marie Look

3. Penelope Jones

4. Frustrated Reader

5. Rosie Says

6. Oh My Omiyage

7. The Well-Read Redhead

8. Kathryn O’Halloran

9. Meredith Schorr

10. The Matticus Kingdom

Thank you, Ms. Monkey. Click here to read her RAWResome blog.

Thank you, again, Miss Monkey. Now everyone should click here to read her RAWResome blog.

About julieschicklit

My book blog is dedicated to finding books, stories & ideas that redefine women's literature to be something smarter & funnier. More RAWResome lit for ladies. I am remaining some-what anonymous because I have a day job. My Man-Beast and I are soon going to live abroad in China, so that's why I'm a reblog-aholic.

11 comments

  1. Awww thanks so much!! I don’t usually give these out on my blog, but I accept the honor and thank you ever so much for it 🙂

  2. Thank you so much for this award! I am honored to be among such great company 🙂

  3. Thank you for the nomination! I’ll get working on my acceptance speech shortly.

  4. Thank you again for the award. I’m super excited about it!

  5. Pingback: Conditions in The Matticus Kingdom today: long periods of SUNSHINE | thematticuskingdom

  6. Pingback: awards! :O | fairyburger

  7. monkeyfacekim

    If you were to sell dark chocolate milk I would be the first in line! I’m glad you had fun answering these questions, even though it does sound like chain mail and you might die after seven days if you don’t follow through… but hey! At least you had fun!

  8. LOL you’re so funny! I’ve heard such great things about Games of Thrones lately! Maybe it’s time for me to see what all the noise is about 🙂 Thanks for the nom, Julie!

  9. Pingback: Sunshine Award | Bad Penny's always to blame!

Leave a comment like a good litasaurus

