{30 to 30} Move to a Different Country!

Man-Beast and I job searched around the world. Talked to great people. Made great connections. But just yesterday we signed the papers. We have finalized it. We have chosen our new country. Are you ready? See if you can guess from these pictures …

buddha

There is a giant Buddha (or maybe more) there! Photo from LonelyPlanet.com

nap time

Schools there have a nap time! (Click the pic to see really interesting pictures of students and schools around the world). Photo from Slate.com

surf taiwan

You can surf there! This might give it away, but photo from SurfTaiwan.com

taiwanese food

It’s known for its array of delicious and multi-cultural foods! Click the pic to read the article from CNN Travel

Give up!? Ok, ready? It’s …

Taiwan!!!

Ah! This is crazy! And you see, this is why I did not make a prescribed list of 30 things to do before I turned 30. Because I never would have guessed that I would be spending my 30th birthday in Taiwan. Hopefully eating noodles. I hear some grocery stores there can have up to three isles of just noodles.

Heaven. Photo from DeliciousDayz.com

Man-Beast and I are really excited for all the outdoors activities that the island has to offer. We are also excited for our school where we’ll be teaching. And we really do get a nap time everyday, just after lunch. Now that is a custom I can get used to!

We are due to be in Taiwan on August 1 and we will be there for two years. So after then, you can expect to see a lot of stories, pictures, recipes, (and hopefully) books from Taiwan on my blog. We also want to travel to Thailand, Korea, Philippines, Australia, Papa New Guinea and many other places. We’ll have Chinese New Years and summers off, so hopefully we can fit in some great travels during those times.

Formosan Rock Monkeys are native to Taiwan! I hear you are not supposed to look them in the eyes.

{If you could live anywhere in the world, where would you want to go?}

*     *     *     *     *

Here’s what we have so far in my journey of {30 to 30}

1. What to do in the next year

2. Give up on the search for a BFF

3. Host Christmas

4. Have a white Christmas

5. Be nicer to my niece

6. Tell someone to eff off

7. Job search around the world

8. Complete the Goodall challenge

9. Solve America’s gun problem!

10. Solve America’s bathroom problem!

About julieschicklit

My book blog is dedicated to finding books, stories & ideas that redefine women's literature to be something smarter & funnier. More RAWResome lit for ladies. I am remaining some-what anonymous because I have a day job. My Man-Beast and I are soon going to live abroad in China, so that's why I'm a reblog-aholic.

35 comments

  1. This is SO SO COOL. Not only living there, but getting to travel to all the other amazing places nearby!! Huge congrats to you and Man Beast!!

  2. Congrats. As someone who spent 5 1/2 years in Asia my advice would be to keep an open mind and try everything. It will be a great adventure. Have fun and can’t wait to see the updates.

  3. I am so jealous that you are just in the beginnings of your adventure. All the anticipation and excitement seems like a long time ago for me now! Unfortunately, I am nearing the end of my time in Germany and looking forward to the next thing, even if it is back to rainy (but lovely) Cardiff for my final year of university! Have a brilliant time and I hope that the packing isn’t too bad ;).

  4. Anjali

    Amazing! Congratulations on your decision. I can’t wait to hear about all of your adventures!

  5. Wow – what a change that will be! Congratulations! You may not ever want to leave there with those nap times factored in.

  6. Taiwan looks really nice. So you’re teaching over there, are you teaching English? What kind of qualifications did they ask for? Do they cover accommodation, or are you renting your own? Ah, I have so many questions 🙂

    • I will be teaching 3rd grade LA and SS in the bilingual department of a school, so it will be all in English. Qualifications include an education degree and some experience (though I don’t have a lot.) And they are taking care of our housing, which means we get to save a lot of money (and hopefully we can afford to have kids soon!) Thanks so much for the questions! I love it.

  7. WOW! Just WOW! Sounds like an exciting plan, a real change of environment – when you go for change, you do it properly 🙂

  8. Wow! Congrats on your decision! Taiwan is such a wonderful place with great food 🙂 I’m looking forward to hearing about your adventures!

    • Thank you much! I’ve heard the food is great. I’m going to have to take up surfing to keep the weight off! I’m going to want to eat everything.

      • Ooo yeahh I heard surfing there is pretty fun! My husband and his friends took a surf trip there a few years ago, and they loved it. After you get settled in and discover enough of Taiwan, come visit Japan too! It’s not too far. Actually, Taiwan’s a great jumping off point for visiting a lot of Asia and SE Asia! You’ll have lots to do 🙂

      • Yes! Man-Beast and I really want to visit Japan! We want to see so many places on that side of the world. And hopefully we can make it to them all! xo

  9. Pingback: Top 10 RAWResome Blog Posts {Mar. 17 – 23} | julie's chick lit

  10. Wow, I really want to go to Taiwan. It’s so beautiful, not covered with factories like I used to think!

  11. Pingback: Goodbye to Baby Panther | julie's chick lit

  12. Julie, that is so rad that you guys are going on such an incredible journey! I can’t wait to hear about all your adventures! Please keep the posts and updates coming. 🙂

  13. Pingback: {30 to 30} Get Horrible Picture Taken With Jane Goodall | julie chicklitasaurus

  14. Pingback: Quinoa & Black Bean Soup | julie chicklitasaurus

  15. I am SO excited for you! Living in a different country with a different culture, climate, money … different everything is such a rich experience. With your zest for life I’m sure you will embrace culture shock. Even better, you are going with your mate so you can share the adventure and when you guys are back here, you will remember together. Take zillions of pictures! You will be very glad you did. I already lived in my other country. I still dream of Jerusalem. Try to get to other places in Asia if you can. Eat life!!

    • Thank you very much! There will be lots and lots of pics and stories on my blog, promise. And I plan to eat just about anything and everything. The food is the one thing I am most looking forward to! I have always loved Asian food and I think I will be right at home. I hope you stay tuned! xo

      • PLEASE buy a PAIR of top of the line point & shoot cameras. You can probably get them cheaper in Asia — maybe hop over to Hong Kong or Tokyo and go nuts. Take me in your luggage of please please please.. Get really terrific all-in-ones that are lightweight, have excellent fast lenses, one of which should be f/2.0 or better and the other a top line superzoom. Canon makes some wonderful ones as does Olympus. The baby Nikons sorta suck (my opinon, but it’s not a bad opinion). Don’t bother with interchangeable lenses … they’ll just get in your way. Get two (or more if you have the money) cameras so you each have one in hand. Otherwise, one of you will always be missing from the pictures. Have at least ONE superzoom both be the BEST equipment you can possibly afford. There IS a difference.

        I have gone places without good cameras because I didn’t want to lug stuff around, didn’t want to spend all my time seeing the world through my viewfinder, etc. ad nauseum and every time I’ve done that, I have been sorry. Asia is THE place for amazing cameras. Do some research beforehand so you have an idea what you want. I’ll bet there will be models available there you can’t get here. Oooh, that’s the one thing I really envy … well … the food too. And being there. I did love living abroad very very very very much. I was away almost a decade and awful stuff happened to me and I still loved it and wouldn’t trade those years for anything. Go Julie! So few Americans venture out of their homes into the bigger world. It will turn on all your lights, open all your windows and doors, even ones you never knew you had. I’m so excited for you (can you tell?). How wonderful to be starting on a great adventure!!

  16. Pingback: #Caturday First Novel | julie chicklitasaurus

  17. Pingback: Powell’s Bookstore in Portland, Oregon | julie chicklitasaurus

  18. Pingback: Wildly Wrong | julie chicklitasaurus

  19. Pingback: #ThrowbackThursday Callin’ Baton Rouge by Garth Brooks | julie chicklitasaurus

  20. Pingback: #Caturday I Miss My Baby | julie chicklitasaurus

  21. Pingback: Stumped As A Stegosaur … Again | julie chicklitasaurus

  22. Pingback: Daring Greatly: How the Courage to be Vulnerable Transforms the Way We Live, Love, Parent, and Lead by Brene Brown | julie chicklitasaurus

  23. Pingback: {30 to 30} Accept Rejection Gracefully | julie chicklitasaurus

Leave a comment like a good litasaurus

