Goodbye to Baby Panther

I am back from Spring Break and the house is lonely and majorly lacking in meows and belly rubs (though Man-Beast is still asking for his belly to be rubbed … and he’s meowing when he’s in the living room on his own. Weird.)

Suffice it to say, he and I are sad that we had to fly our Baby Panther to her Grammy and Pop’s house in Arizona. Since we are moving to Taiwan in August, she’s going to live with them for two years.

"I no more run in front of you when you're going downstairs, OK?"

“I no more run in front of you when you’re going downstairs, K?”

But for the first time since we found out that we were going to go teach abroad, I’m sad. Before, I couldn’t wait to get to Taiwan and try stinky tofu. Now, I can’t wait to have my Baby Panther back.

While Man-Beast and I were in Arizona, we also got to spend time with our nieces and nephews. When we asked our very blunt 10-year-old nephew if he’s going to miss us for the two years that we’re in Taiwan, he said, “No. Because you guys haven’t lived in Arizona for, like, a year or something.”

Man-Beast was so kind to point out that we moved away from Arizona four years ago, but still, the idea is the same.

Because we’re not around our growing nieces and nephews, they feel disconnected from us. It’s understandable as to why they think that, but it’s still sad.

Hopefully having our Baby Panther with them for two years will help! My niece is brushing the cat everyday and my nephew is leaving huge piles of cat nip in front of her dry cat food. He also wants her to sleep with him at night, but she’s sticking to under the bed for now.

It has made this sacrifice easier to handle knowing that Baby Panther is with a loving and warm family. I know they are going to take good care of her and give her lots of belly rubs.

"Mmmk, I was a good girl on the flight and now is time for my belly rubs, K?"

“I was a good girl on the flight and now is time for my belly rubs, mmmK?”

Also on the plus side, I gave my niece her scrapbook that I made for her, for her fifth birthday. She loved it and took it with her everywhere we went!

The scrapbook is in her lap

The scrapbook is in her lap

My sister’s mother-in-law made Man-Beast and I Pakastani food, which was super delish.

IMG_0558

Cucumber & tomato salad, curry chicken, vegetable rice, Pakastani flat bread, and lentils in a curry sauce

And Man-Beast and I stayed at a hotel near the Safeway where the Gabby Giffords shooting happened. We went there to get … drinks … and though we rushed in and then rushed out, I was surprised to see there wasn’t a plaque out in front or anything. There is, though, a big angel statue at the nearby soccer fields (where I once played as a young litasaurus) to celebrate the young girl who was killed. So that is probably more appropriate. But it was just surreal to be at a perfectly wonderful strip mall and grocery store, and know that something horrible happened there. Very sad.

IMG_0570

And to end this post on a happy note, my beauty guest post is up on MarieLook.com! Check it out here to see how you can combat dry skin. (I probably should have added how to fight off allergies because now I am feeling horrible after being in Springy and bloomy Arizona.) Big thank you to Marie for allowing me and my silly dinosaur references on her very professional-looking website. You’re RAWResome, my friend.

About julieschicklit

My book blog is dedicated to finding books, stories & ideas that redefine women's literature to be something smarter & funnier. More RAWResome lit for ladies. I am remaining some-what anonymous because I have a day job. My Man-Beast and I are soon going to live abroad in China, so that's why I'm a reblog-aholic.

7 comments

  1. Baby Panther is adorable! And that food looks so goooood

  2. It must be hard to leave Baby Panther behind. But you will have skype and other tools to connect with your family.

    When we moved to Switzerland in 1997 it cost about $1 minute to talk by phone. Not something we could do easily or often. You will have skype to help in the lonely times, but you will have an incredible adventure.

    Living abroad was a life changing experience for me. You will have one too.

    • Aw, thank you. That makes me feel better. It’s hard leaving her behind. (But I bet $1/minute is even harder! Ouch!) We are excited for our adventure. We are ready for something big to happen in our lives. Thanks again. xoxo

  3. Pingback: Top 10 #RAWResome Blog Posts {Apr. 7 – 13} | julie chicklitasaurus

  4. Aw, this makes me want to cry. I have been known to sob in theatric-like proportions when I leaving my pets. You are super lucky though to have family to take him in when you are away, it doesn’t always work out that way.

    On a happier note, that plate of food looks AMAZING!

Leave a comment like a good litasaurus

