Melissa McCarthy on SNL

SNL_MelissaMcCarthy

Call me crazy …

(Waiting for you to yell at your screen …)

But I am a fan of SNL and always have been. It’s so trendy to call SNL bad. But I’ve always thought it was funny. Here’s a fun bit of trivia! Back when Will Ferrel & Tina Fey were on SNL, everyone said it sucked! A few years later when Kristen Wiig & Andy Samberg were on, everyone again said it sucked! Everyone just has it all wrong. I know a good thing when I see it.

Which brings me to last night …

Melissa McCarthy, my imaginary best friend, was back on Saturday Night Live last night and here are a few thoughts I had:

  • You know Melissa is funny when she’s the main character in all of her skits
  • Taran is kind of a cutie patootie … with long legs
  • The audience last night was great! They screamed and laughed a lot. Loren Michaels should pay them to come back every episode
  • Poor Peter Dinkledge. They gave him the worst joke in the Drunk Uncle skit
  • Seth Meyers had a smile on his face all during Weekend Update that said, “That’s right. Next season, I’m hosting Late Night
  • Ummm … Fred Armisen is still on the show? They gave him, about, two lines last night
  • Meliss (my new nickname for my new BFF) is brilliant at improv. The game show skit. Oh, the game show skit!
  • I’m surprised Kristen Wiig didn’t make a “surprise” guest appearance because Meliss was on? (Side note: when in the prehistoric world is her next movie coming out? A gal can watch Bridesmaids only so many times.)

{What was your favorite part of last night’s episode of SNL?}

About julieschicklit

My book blog is dedicated to finding books, stories & ideas that redefine women's literature to be something smarter & funnier. More RAWResome lit for ladies. I am remaining some-what anonymous because I have a day job. My Man-Beast and I are soon going to live abroad in China, so that's why I'm a reblog-aholic.

14 comments

  1. moi

    Am I allowed to say I have never watched SNL, I think I saw a Richard Pryor sketch about 15 years ago which I “think” was SNL but not 100% sure.

  2. Now I gotta check out that episode, being in Europe makes it hard to keep up.

  3. I don’t get it, I think SNL is funny! And I love Melissa McCarthy! I have to go check out this episode, haven’t watched SNL in so long

  4. Anjali

    Haven’t watched it yet…Can’t wait to see it. Melissa is hysterical!

  5. Amy

    I have been a huge fan of SNL my entire life. My dream job is to be a writer for SNL in the 1970’s, though honestly, any decade works for me. I LOVE Melissa McCarthy and thought she was hilarious also. I just found your blog and already love it. Too much? Did I cross a line? Go back to the part of the comment that was not creepy and pretend I stopped there.

    • Hello new friend! Can I hire you to walk around with me and say encouraging words when I am feeling blue? Ease don’t say you already took the job with SNL in the 70s! Xo

      • Amy

        I have NOT been able to perfect the whole time machine thing, lucky for you, so YES, consider me your encouraging word deliverer. My fee is very reasonable. I will work for Slim Jim’s and Hot Pockets.

      • Haha! I like your classy taste, my friend! And I will stop by your blog and be your encouraging word deliverer for some frozen burritos and fro yo! Xoxo

Leave a comment like a good litasaurus

