{Review} Through A Window: 30 Years of Observing Chimpanzees by Jane Goodall

jane MEME

Not too much longer and I will be sitting eagerly with a notepad and pen while I listen to Jane Goodall give a speech! Holy Tyranasaur! My original goal was to read the following, and in order (because my OCD tells me they MUST go in order):

In The Shadow of Man (1971)

Chimpanzees of Gombe: Patterns of Behavior (1986)

Through a Window: 30 Years of Observing Chimpanzees (1990)

Reason For Hope: A Spiritual Journey (1999)

Africa in My Blood (2000)

Hope For Animals and Their World: How Endangered Animals Are Being Recused From the Brink (2009)

Reading in Man-Beast's science la-bore-a-tory. I drew a chimp in the back, can you see? I can't be around a white board and NOT doodle

Reading in Man-Beast’s science la-bore-a-tory. I drew a chimp in the back, can you see? I can’t be around a white board and NOT doodle

However! (There is always a however.) Book numero dos was thwarted because my library actually did not carry it. (Tisk. Tisk.) The DVD Jane’s Journey took its place and that was all good and dandy. And I have just finished Through A Window. But! (There is always a but.) I don’t think I’m going to be able to finish the last three before I see her. Reason For Hope and Africa in my Blood are available through my local library. But we’re kind of in a fight right now. I do own Hope For Animals (therefore it might be one of the books I’ll have her sign!) so I’m going to start on that one before I see Jane.

So how was Through A Window? It was a good read that was very similar to In The Shadow of Man. Through A Window does continue on the stories of some of the chimps you meet in Shadow, and even their children and their grandchildren! Jane also talks about more observations she makes, including chimps going to war against each other, cannibalism and family relationships.

Julie Chicklitasaurus devoured this book.

Julie Chicklitasaurus devoured this book.

But! (Oop. There’s another one!) I am sort of freaking out about this Jane Goodall lecture I’m going to go see. There’s usually a book signing at the end, and I plan on bulldozing my way through grandpas and little litasauruses to be near the front of the line. But when I do get the chance to have Jane sign my book … what am I going to say? What do you say to a woman who helped redefine “man?”

“Hey, Janey. You redefined man but I’m trying (and failing) to redefine women’s literature on my dinosaur-themed book blog!”

I don’t know. I really don’t have a clue of what to say. I’m as stumped as a stegosaur. So I need your help …

{What would you say to Jane Goodall if you had 10 seconds to meet her?}

About julieschicklit

My book blog is dedicated to finding books, stories & ideas that redefine women's literature to be something smarter & funnier. More RAWResome lit for ladies. I am remaining some-what anonymous because I have a day job. My Man-Beast and I are soon going to live abroad in China, so that's why I'm a reblog-aholic.

14 comments

  1. Dave Burns

    That’s pretty awesome! Side note: Watched ‘Gorillas in the Mist’ last night with my Baby. Could have sworn it was about Jane Goodall and not Dian Fossey!

  2. Cool. How about asking her what folks always forget to ask her. She probably has a list!

  3. I watched Jane’s Journey not too long ago, loved it.
    If I had 10 minutes with her I would say:
    “You are great!. Wish I had the balls you had to do what you’ve done”
    And quickly in the las second with my voice fading because the security guard is pulling, Please sign my boooooooooooooobs

  4. How about, “Jane, you have accomplished so much. But, have you learned to put your pants on two legs at a time?”

    (Not really a suggestion, just a weak effort to be witty. I’m a bit off today.)

  5. I’ve only seen the movie and a documentary with her and Charlize Theron. If I met her I think the only thing I would ask her is to tell me her favourite stories.

  6. Pingback: {30 to 30} Get Horrible Picture Taken With Jane Goodall | julie chicklitasaurus

Leave a comment like a good litasaurus

