Quinoa & Black Bean Soup

Since Man-Beast and I are moving to Taiwan in three short months, we are in the process of eating everything out of our cabinets and our pantry. Which means, a lot of Costco bulk stuff. Like our big ass bag of quinoa. Our big ass bag of frozen corn. Six boxes of tomato soup. Fifty cans of diced tomatoes. And five hundred seventy four cans of black beans. Because I loooooove black beans. Just had to have them. I just had to.

This recipe combines all those things. We just needed a fresh purple onion and some fresh spinach. So it looks like we will be eating this soup and Coaches Oats pancakes for the next three months! Mmm, mmm good.

quinoa and black bean

Goes well with my Costco wine!

{Recipe}

1 cup cooked quinoa

1 box tomato soup (I use this kind, which you can get at Costco, of course.)

1 cup water

1 teaspoon better than bouillon chicken stock

1/2 purple onion, diced

1 cup corn (I just throw the frozen stuff in the pot of boiling soup. Cooks it just fine.)

1 can black beans, drained

1 can diced tomatoes, drained

1 cup diced mushrooms

1 teaspoon basil

1 teaspoon oregano

1 teaspoon minced garlic

1/2 teaspoon thyme

salt and pepper to taste

2 cups spinach to add about five minutes before you’re ready to serve

{Really complicated directions}

Combine all ingredients in a big pot and simmer for about 10 minutes. About five minutes before you’re ready to serve, add the spinach. Serve with bread and butter!

About julieschicklit

My book blog is dedicated to finding books, stories & ideas that redefine women's literature to be something smarter & funnier. More RAWResome lit for ladies. I am remaining some-what anonymous because I have a day job. My Man-Beast and I are soon going to live abroad in China, so that's why I'm a reblog-aholic.

17 comments

  1. It looks delicious and healthy and a great vegetarian option as well if you substitute the chicken stock for vegetable stock!

    • So true, Mandy! Are you a vegetarian? I’m not, but I’m a picky meat eater. No cows or pigs. And I do like to have vegetarian meals a few nights a week. Xo

      • Yeah, I’ve been veg for about a year and a half now, thanks to a vegetarian ex-boyfriend. Dropped the boyfriend, kept the habit. I just feel bleaugh now when I eat meat, my body seems to like it better this way!

      • Good for you! I don’t know if I could ever give up sushi, but going easy on the meat has definitely made me feel better too. I once accidentally ate a beef taco in a dark restaurant (they mixed up our orders) and my stomach was doing loud turns all night long. It was not happy about the poor cow I just ate! 🙂

      • Exactly! When I first started cutting back, and then decided to go out and have a nice steak a few months in – bad bad idea…

  2. Quinoa & Black Beans! If we get one more cool day, I feel this coming on for dinner… I can never just ‘throw things together’. I need guidance (especially since I was still burning food at a 93% level about 2 years ago).

  3. You have a very challenging 3 months ahead of you! This sounds good though.

  4. It looks and sounds devine

Leave a comment like a good litasaurus

