#ThrowbackThursday “Will You Be There” by Boyce Avenue

OK, so this version isn’t really a throwback. But remember when Michael Jackson originally sang this song for the “Free Willy” soundtrack!? It was so RAWResome. I remember my friend, Jessica, from down the street, had the coolest mom in the world because her mom would blast Michael Jackson’s Dangerous album in her SUV when we picked up kids for soccer practice. “Jam,” “Do You Remember the Time,” and “Black or White.” Damn, those were some good ones.

I would think in my little 10-year-old head, “I’m listening to loud music. I’m listening to Michael Jackson. And I’m in a SUV. Life is pretty damn good.”

But “Will You Be There” was the most wonderful of them all because it made me think of that sassy Willy and how he jumped over that one kid’s head to free himself back to the ocean! Go on with your bad self, you crazy freaking Orca!

Ah. The 90s. They were some good times. Boyce Avenue, an alternative rock band from Sarasota, Florida, must have had the same feelings about Willy as I did when they covered this song. So my first installment of #ThrowbackThursday I’m cheating a little by posting a new version of an old song.

About julieschicklit

My book blog is dedicated to finding books, stories & ideas that redefine women's literature to be something smarter & funnier. More RAWResome lit for ladies. I am remaining some-what anonymous because I have a day job. My Man-Beast and I are soon going to live abroad in China, so that's why I'm a reblog-aholic.

4 comments

  1. I love Boyce Avenue and this such a good song! A college group did this too http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WOVOMO3R-T8

  2. Oh geez………………..the little pick me ups I’m getting from blogs today are just what I needed. Thank you!

Leave a comment like a good litasaurus

