#ThrowbackThursday “The Silent Storm” by Sherry Garland

For this Throwback Thursday, I’m sharing a book that I loved back when I was a wee litasaurus.

Click here to get The Silent Storm by Sherry Garland on Amazon

Click here to get The Silent Storm by Sherry Garland on Amazon

The summer between fourth and fifth grade, my parents and I moved from Dublin, California to Tucson, Arizona. I hated the change. Arizona was hot. It didn’t have grass to play on. All my classmates played tennis at the country club. It was just a hot mess.

I missed the Bay Area. I missed diversity. I missed public transportation (weird, I know.) But Tucson was lacking in all the areas that made Northern California such a rich place to live (no pun intended. Really.)

Only on the Bart

I was in a funk. I would dare to say it was a depression, even at a young age. But I discovered this book in the public library. And I loved it.

Looking back, I think I felt like the main character – hiding some embarrassing and sad secret by keeping quiet and not talking to anyone. I could relate to this character and it made me feel like I wasn’t alone in my problems.

But that lucky bitch got to ride a horse on the beach.

All I had were tarantulas and dirt.

Unwelcoming environment in many different ways

No matter. It was a great read. Very appropriate for a young, emotionally distraught lady. So if you happen to know a young girl who needs a good book in her life, recommend this one to her. Something good to read on that wicked cool public transportation.

And in honor of Chris Kelly from Kris Kross, I am wearing my shirt backwards today and listening to this:

{What book got you out of a funk?}

About julieschicklit

My book blog is dedicated to finding books, stories & ideas that redefine women's literature to be something smarter & funnier. More RAWResome lit for ladies. I am remaining some-what anonymous because I have a day job. My Man-Beast and I are soon going to live abroad in China, so that's why I'm a reblog-aholic.

12 comments

  1. ardenrr

    I’m never visiting Arizone now .. Tarantulas are wiggity wiggity wiggity whack!

  2. “But that lucky bitch got to ride a horse on the beach.”- I laughed, thanks!

  3. Too many books to name! But I laughed here as well. 🙂

  4. I rec’d a text from my mother this morning before 7 am, ‘Chris Kelly from Kris Kross is dead!’ First I was shocked, but then I couldn’t stop laughing. I was wondering if I was the only woman in America receiving urgert 90’s Hip Hop texts from their mother at that hour.

    Funk Rescue: Good In Bed by Jennifer Weiner

  5. I will tell you my book secret. I have lost several family members who left big holes in my heart. And whenever I am missing them, I read Harry Potter. Because in HP, dead people get to come back on occasion. It really truly helps me when I am particularly sad.

    • Awwwww Elise. I am About to cry. But you’re absolutely right, Harry potter is very uplifting. That nerdy wizard knows how to put a smile on my face! And my favorite line of all time comes from Dumbledore. “Just because its happening in your head doesn’t mean it’s not real.” I’m paraphrasing here but it was something like that.

Leave a comment like a good litasaurus

