#Caturday First Novel

For all those who have published their first novel, I hope you loves it just as much cat does.

From icanhascheezburger.com

From icanhascheezburger.com

{Do you want to take a bite out of your first novel?}

Update from yesterday’s post:

I fully intended on telling my third grade students yesterday that I am moving to Taiwan this summer and will teach there for two years. I glamorized the event in my head. There would be gasps. I would show them where Taiwan is on the globe. They would go home and tell their parents all about Taiwan. We would all revel in the wonderousness that is multi-cultural learning. Their parents would nominate me for Most Fantasical Teacher of the Year.

It would be a shining moment!

We had a science experiment to do first. Making sundials out of toilet plungers.

You know where this is going, don’t you? And don’t worry, they were unused toilet plungers.

All the kids had set up their poster papers on the ground with their plunger in the middle of their paper. They had all marked where the first shadow was. The directions were to go back to the shade by the back door and start reading their just right book.

Those were the directions!

The wind kicked up so a few kids and I set up the plungers that had fallen over. Most of the kids were in the shade reading. So when I walk back to the shadey area, I see five of my boys sticking the extra few plungers all over the school’s windows.

I actually thought it was pretty funny.

But those weren’t the directions!

So, holding in my laughs, I sent all five of them in for a refocus (today’s version of a time-out.) Which took some time because they all felt that they could argue with me about it. So I had to have the talk with all of them that they don’t get to argue with the teacher. And that took some time. Then they all finally went in. Then their partners were SOL. I had to help those kids.

It was a management mess.

How did I NOT see that when I first knew I would be using toilet plungers with a bunch of third graders!? Apparently I have a lot yet to learn.

So I didn’t get to tell my students about Taiwan yet. The toilet plungers got in the way.

Only in teaching can one use that as an excuse.

About julieschicklit

My book blog is dedicated to finding books, stories & ideas that redefine women's literature to be something smarter & funnier. More RAWResome lit for ladies. I am remaining some-what anonymous because I have a day job. My Man-Beast and I are soon going to live abroad in China, so that's why I'm a reblog-aholic.

One comment

  1. Ummm…yes…yes,the only time I used a plunger as an excuse was when I saw teaching something…

    It sounds like a great lesson though!

Leave a comment like a good litasaurus

