Chelsea, bell & Dolly

I made some “me time” yesterday and went to the library. It’s an adventurous feeling when you go to the library and just peruse the shelves. Never knowing who you’re going to stumble upon.

I made my way to the women’s literature section, which is just such a sad state of librariness. If it’s not Nora Roberts and Nicholas Sparks crap, then it’s half of a shelving unit of feminist books.

Women's lit should be an entire section. Not a part of a shelving unit. Library fail.

Notice “The Feminist Mystique” shares a shelf with “Deer Hunting With Jesus.”

What the Fukuiraptor, librarians? We need to up the ante on literature for ladies.

fukuiraptorMEME

Feel free to use by clicking here. Why the Fukuiraptor not?

Anyway. I did run into my homegirl bell hooks, who I fell in love with in college with her book all about love. But on this particular trip to the library, I ran into her book, belonging: a culture of place. Perfect timing, eh? Right before I move to Taiwan? Her books always make me think so deeply, though. And I was in the mood to laugh. So I grabbed bell, but I also made my way to the Adult section. My favorite section.

bellhooks

Something smart

I read a review of Chelsea Handler’s book, Lies That Chelsea Handler Told Me, on the fantastic blog Sarah Says Read. I instantly knew I loved Sarah. Anyone who reads Chelsea Handler is alright by me. I read Chelsea’s first book, My Horizontal Life, in one day and laughed/cried through the whole thing.

So I had to get this one.

IMG_1008

Then I was making my way to the check out and a little cheesy glimmer of a rhinestone caught me eye.

Dolly!

And I thought, what the hell? It’s going to be an easy read. It’s going to be cute and funny, because it’s written by Dolly Parton. Why the Fukuiraptor not?

So I gots it.

I need something a little hoppy to go with this something sweet

I need something a little hoppy to go with this something sweet

I felt satisfied with my little collection of RAWResomeness that I picked up at the library. I think Chelsea, bell & Dolly show the diversity of my reading list and the diversity of my personality.

I think, in some weird way, I am still recovering from being an English Lit major. (other English Lit majors may know what I mean.) I have this sort of “Catholic guilt” if I don’t choose books that are classics or on their way to becoming classics. If the book isn’t on the “no read” list in public schools, then it’s not OK to read. If the book’s author isn’t some social outcast who refuses to conform to nonconformity, then it’s not OK to read. If the book isn’t about the struggles of some demographic in America, then it’s not OK to read.

But.

Sometimes.

It is OK to read Dolly Parton. Sometimes it’s OK to be a little mindless when reading. We don’t have to only read books that require deep, analytical thinking that transcends-existential-alliteration-hyperbole-theme.

(See what I did there? You’re completely thrown off and intimidated by my big literary words, aren’t you!?)

I am in recovery. And these ladies are my sponsors. With their help and the support of family and friends, I can see myself graduating from this 12-step program. Ah, the fifth step. You are the hardest one.

But it’s time for me to leave the academics back in college. It’s time for me to have fun with reading. And it’s about Fukuiraptor time.

The ladies on the car ride home with me

The ladies on the car ride home with me

{Which of these books would you read first?}

About julieschicklit

My book blog is dedicated to finding books, stories & ideas that redefine women's literature to be something smarter & funnier. More RAWResome lit for ladies. I am remaining some-what anonymous because I have a day job. My Man-Beast and I are soon going to live abroad in China, so that's why I'm a reblog-aholic.

14 comments

  1. As someone who will start his English Literature degree in the fall it amuses me that you have those feelings of guilt when you don’t read certain books – I’m glad you cast those feelings aside to garner some great books! The feminist inside of me feels bad for not having read any of those books, though I’ve heard wonderful things about the Feminine Mystique. Hope you enjoy all of them!

  2. I can’t tell you how much I love your ‘What the Fukuiraptor’!

  3. I did an English degree, too, and understand completely! 🙂

  4. booksboozeandbitchin

    I have read all of the Chelsea Handler books and LOVE LOVE LOVE them! If you need a copy I can send them to you!!! 🙂

  5. Ohhhh, yes. Reading what you want, when you want, how you want. I’ll have a few pounds of that, please, Rara 🙂 I identifiy with your thrill of finding reading that got you by the guts and bypassed the classic filter installed by the educational system snobbery. Dolly Parton must be a very good read. Have fun with your literal rehab, and thanks for the Fukuiraptor pic, it had me in stitiches 🙂

  6. You are the sweetest thing!! But HELL YES Chelsea Handler. Love her and her snarky hilariousness.

  7. Soooo I thought I left a comment but it looks like it got eaten :-/ Sorry if it shows up eventually.

    Anyways, you are the sweetest!! And yay Chelsea Handler, love her and her snarky hilariousness.

  8. Pingback: Lies That Chelsea Handler Told Me | julie chicklitasaurus

Leave a comment like a good litasaurus

