Dream More by Dolly Parton

I picked up this little cheese of a rhinestone while on my trip to the library because it looked fun, shiny and not very thick. And I was in the mood to read something light and light-hearted.

Holy hell, was I right.

I read Dolly’s book in about an hour and a half, and that’s with long beer and bathroom breaks, respectively.

I need something a little hoppy to go with this something sweet

I need something a little hoppy to go with this something sweet

The margins on each page were about two inches, on all four sides. The font was about size 18. And, I swear by this, the pages felt really thick. Like I was turning two at once.

But I am not dissing on Dolly. Like I said, it was exactly what I was looking for. And besides the cliches, Dolly’s humor and wisdom really shined through at certain points.

IMG_1003

True words from Dolly

I like how she dressed up for this page.

I am going to quote from the Dolly-llama from now on ... and you should too

I am going to quote from the Dolly-mama from now on … and you should too

And some of her advice was actually good stuff.

So much wisdom in her noggin

So much wisdom in her noggin

I know a lot of people who confuse dreams and wishes. Very true statement from the Dolly-mama there.

I really liked her book, though, that she dedicated this book to her father, who, she says, never learned to read but yet was so smart in other ways. This dedication, along with her Imagination Library that she talks about makes me appreciate reading in a new way.

It’s a valuable life skill to have and I’m very thankful for it.

Ah, reading. How I love thee.

And Dolly, too.

devoured2 RIBBIT

About julieschicklit

My book blog is dedicated to finding books, stories & ideas that redefine women's literature to be something smarter & funnier. More RAWResome lit for ladies. I am remaining some-what anonymous because I have a day job. My Man-Beast and I are soon going to live abroad in China, so that's why I'm a reblog-aholic.

10 comments

  1. There ain’t no crystal all, hey…. Ya can’t knock a good ‘ole double negative. Rock on, Dolly!

  2. I’m a little fascinated by her? I only question that because sometimes I am and then the next moment, I go “eh, it’s Dolly” and move on with my life.

  3. I love Dolly, now I love her more and just asked (truly, I demanded) Husband to order me this book! 🙂

Leave a comment like a good litasaurus

