Culture Shock: A Giant Deformed Freak in Taiwan

My lovely friend Amy over at Language Boat read my post about reading Culture Shock: Taiwan and then graced the world with the best gift of all … her own, first-hand account of culture shock.

Her account of moving to Taiwan last December is so much more helpful & personal than the Culture Shock book, so I had to reblog it.

I hope you enjoy her post as much as I did. And go to her blog to read about being a vegan in Taiwan, escalator etiquette and painful foot massages.

{Culture Shock: A Giant Deformed Freak in Taiwan}

About julieschicklit

My book blog is dedicated to finding books, stories & ideas that redefine women's literature to be something smarter & funnier. More RAWResome lit for ladies. I am remaining some-what anonymous because I have a day job. My Man-Beast and I are soon going to live abroad in China, so that's why I'm a reblog-aholic.

4 comments

  1. ardenrr

    So did this make you feel better or worse? How tall are you? I have come to the decision that I can never go to Taiwan, seeing as I am 5’11”. The Taiwanese would probably run away screaming in horror from me!

  2. Hi Julie! I need to amend my earlier advice to you to bring sheets to Taiwan. I had some sent from the States and it turns out the bed sizes here are totally different! Ugh! So, don’t waste precious space in your suitcase on sheets. You will have to get them here. There are some places that sell 100% cotton sheets, you just have to hunt around. I got mine at a store called Hola.

Leave a comment like a good litasaurus

