Lies That Chelsea Handler Told Me

{This post also has a running gag in it, this week’s prompt for Rarasaur‘s Prompt for the Promptless. See if you can spot the re-occuring joke. Scroll to the bottom for the answer!}

If you’re looking for new and inventive ways to harass your cow-orkers (that was a typo but I’m keeping it!) then you need to pick up some tips from this glorious book. I originally saw a review of this book on Sarah Says Read. Sarah’s review was so good that I had to go to the local library and pick this one up. Thank you, Sarah, for the RAWResome book recommendation! Hmmm … I should give you some kind of … award … or something … hmmm?

You can already see what I have up my sleeve, can’t you!?

IMG_1008

Each chapter is written by a different friend, assistant or family member and they tell about times when Chelsea exaggerated the truth to them, or were part of one of her lies. Like everything Chelsea writes, there were times when I laughed out loud.

And I cackle. Like a witch at the Saturday night Improv.

So I scared the Man-Beast. With my RAWRs of laughter.

chelseaRIBBET1

I would have liked to have grown up in a household like that

chelseaRIBBET2

Is it just me, or does Delta Burke need to make a comeback?

Anyway. I loved the book. Read it pretty quickly and took it with me everywhere I went.

I only thought the voice of each of the chapters sounded the same. So I was expecting the last sentence to be, “Haha, suckers! I wrote the whole book. None of that was true. Love, Chelsea.”

But don’t worry. That’s not the ending.

I also have to say that her friends, family and co-workers are the most patient people I’ve heard of. They also must be the most gullible people on the planet. Chelsea Handler must make it a point to surround herself with gullible people.

One last thing.

Thank God that there’s someone out there like Chelsea Handler. Thank God there’s a beautiful woman who’s not afraid to talk about vaginas, chicken fingers and Delta Burke. Thank God there is a crass, smart, funny and raunchy female in mainstream/pop culture who can help break down the stereotype that women are supposed to be delicate, emotional, little creatures.

So thank you, Chelsea, and people like Chelsea, for being so RAWResome.

But let’s be honest. Delta also helped to blaze that trail.

deltaMEME

Don’t judge. That was you in 1989. (It’s OK. That was me too.)devoured2 RIBBIT

(Running gag answer: Delta Burke, that sexy & sassy woman!)

{Are you all for Delta Burke making a come-back?}

About julieschicklit

My book blog is dedicated to finding books, stories & ideas that redefine women's literature to be something smarter & funnier. More RAWResome lit for ladies. I am remaining some-what anonymous because I have a day job. My Man-Beast and I are soon going to live abroad in China, so that's why I'm a reblog-aholic.

10 comments

  1. Pingback: ForThePromptless – S. 2, Ep. 3 – Running Gag | rarasaur

  2. TOTALLY ready for Delta’s blazing come back!

  3. I’m glad you liked this. Although true – all the chapters sound pretty much the same. But whatevs.

    HOW in the world do these people ever believe a word Chelsea says? If I worked for her, I would assume that she’s lying all the time. She’d hate it!

  4. Pingback: Running Gags | AP Roberts' Stories

  5. Pingback: This is my friend, Raptor Colossus. | rarasaur

  6. Pingback: ForThePromptless – S. 2, Ep. 4 – A Total Monet | rarasaur

Leave a comment like a good litasaurus

